Media Release: ASEAN Environment Year 2015 and 2nd ASEAN Eco-Schools Award Presentation Ceremony

Opening Ceremony AEY

The ASEAN Environment Year (AEY) 2015 celebration with the theme ““Empowering the Youth for a Green ASEAN Community” was held back-to-back with the 2nd ASEAN Eco-schools Award Presentation Ceremony on 29-30 July 2015 in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar. The ceremony was attended by senior officials from ASEAN Member States (AMS) and Japan representing their respective Ministers; and eco-schools representatives nominated to receive the ASEAN Eco-schools Award; development partners; and local participants and youths.

The celebration was officially opened by H.E. Win Tun, the Union Minister of Environment Conservation and Forestry (MOECAF) of Myanmar. In his remarks, H.E. Win Tun called ASEAN to deepen its cooperation and collective efforts to successfully implement regional environmental action plans. He highlighted that empowering the youth and education holds a crucial role in achieving clean and green ASEAN Community. He hoped this event and award would encourage young generations, education institutions and communities in the region to collaboratively work to adopt environmentally friendly practices in all of human activities. H.E. Win Tun also witnessed a tree planting ceremony to commemorate the ASEAN Environment Year 2015, as a symbol of ASEAN’s commitment to environmental conservation and sustainable development.

H.E. A.K.P. Mochtan, Deputy Secretary-General for Community and Corporate Affairs, in his remarks, recognizes “the youths as the future of tomorrow and their critical role in protecting the environment as the key to ensuring a harmonious environmental, cultural, and socio-economic future of ASEAN.”

The 2nd ASEAN Eco-schools Award was presented to ten primary and ten secondary eco-schools selected from ASEAN Member States to recognise their exemplary efforts in inculcating environmental awareness in all aspects of education to students and surrounding communities. The selection of the eco-schools was based on national criteria and the ASEAN Guidelines on Eco-schools adopted by the ASEAN Environment Ministers in 2011. The Guidelines serves as a reference and regional standard for environmentally friendly model schools in the region. The event also provided an opportunity for government officials and school principals from ASEAN Member States to exchange information on environmental education policies and best practices on eco-school initiatives/activities.

An exhibition showcasing AMS’ best practices and success stories on eco-school programmes, environmentally friendly products made by students, environmental education resource kits, and local handicrafts, was also held at the sideline of the event.

The AEY is a celebration held once every three years to showcase ASEAN achievement and commitment to environmental protection, and to promote public awareness on environmental issues in general.

The 2nd ASEAN Eco-schools Awardees are as follows:

Recipients of the Second ASEAN Eco-schools Award 2015

Primary School Category

  • Jerudong Primary School, Brunei Darussalam
  • Wat Bo Primary School, Cambodia
  • SMPN 4 Martapura, Kalimantan Selatan, Indonesia
  • Thongkang Primary School, Lao PDR
  • Sekolah Kebangsaan Bukit Baru, Melaka, Malaysia
  • Basic Primary School Ywarthitsu. Myanmar
  • Dubinan Elementary School, Philippines
  • East View Primary School, Singapore
  • Bannammin School, Thailand
  • Hanoi-Amsterdam High School for the Gifted. Viet Nam

Secondary School Category

  • Sekolah Menengah Muda Hashim, Brunei Darussalam
  • Preah Sisowath High School, Cambodia
  • SMA Negeri 2 Temanggung, Indonesia
  • Saysetha Secondary School, Lao PDR
  • Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Seri Aman Kota Tinggi, Johor, Malaysia.
  • Basic High School Chanmyatharzi Township, Myanmar
  • Ateneo De Davao University High School, Philippines
  • Woodgrove Secondary School, Singapore
  • Mattayomsuwitserianusn School, Thailand
  • Foreign Language Specialised School, Ha Noi, Viet Nam